strawberrri.diaryland.com
That's right
2008-10-24 | 9:08 p.m.

Ah, dear diary, I feel I've been neglecting you so. I've just been crazily busy, although this is good as I had brief times of solitude last week where I was feeling homesick. Seriously, the last time I felt homesick was in my second year in Leicester, when venturing outside after dark was never advisable and we would always have to pass many a prostitute atop a street curb.

It's definitely not like that here, thank fuck. Although I did get hissed at by some geese on Wandsworth Common today. Swings and roundabouts, really.

Anyway, I'm going to attempt to briefly summarise all I've been up to since moving, omitting work (though the other day an expert witness came in, gave evidence about pollen ALL DAY LONG and then a transcript of it got ordered, which nearly gave me a nervous breakdown on the spot. I managed to give some of this work away and according to the person who took it, when listening to the recording of the day's proceedings you could hear me sigh loudly when one of the barristers asked for a transcript. I am clearly the definition of professionalism! Ack, tangent. Gone off on.)

Last Monday: I moved.

Tuesday: Drove to Ikea in Croydon with Jenn. Love Ikea but find driving to Croydon in the dark GOD DAMN TERRIFYING, even with Satnav. London's streets are not paved with gold but lunatic drivers. Glad I've cleared up that little myth.

Wednesday: Cinema with Jenn and her boyfriend.

Thursday: Trip to Asda in Clapham.

Friday: Finished early in court so went shopping in Clapham. Thought it was going to be at least slightly classy as it had a Debenhams. Was wrong and had a semi-psychic busking tramp pause mid-song to point at me and yell 'West Ham fan!' (I'm not, my Dad is, having been born there.) Had Gaz come over and construct my Ikea desk in five minutes flat with me asking the most insincere ever 'Can I help in any way?' No, no I could not.

Saturday: Watched Superbad with Gaz, Jenn and Matthew. (Best film ever. WHY HAVE I NEVER SEEN IT BEFORE?) Gaz left and I went to a dodgy club on Tottenham Court Road in the evening with Jenn and our friend Katy. Met some very strange men.

Jenn and me:

Photobucket

Photobucket

A dodgy sleeping man and Jenn and Katy.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Sunday: Went on bike ride to Wimbledon Common. Got quite lost, but had my A to Z so no search parties had to be sent out to retrieve me.

Monday: Worked late.

Tuesday: Drove up to North London in rush hour (NEVER AGAIN) to go to pub quiz with Gaz. Travelled back in under 45 minutes though, which was pleasing.

Wednesday: Had impromptu visit from Gaz and went to cinema and had him stay over.

Yesterday: Met up with gay ex for the first time in four years for 'coffee' (read: vat of wine plus tapas, which led to conversations about how he has had 'cock galore' over the past year and suchlike).

Today: Done washing and in the process of getting things ready for tomorrow's jaunt up to Leicester for uni reunion.

I am cream-bleddy-crackered.

Oh yeah, and the Alcatraz-type place I clambered into trying to escape from being locked in my garden last week? The grounds of a freaking BOWLING GREEN, of all things. Well I never!

previous | next