strawberrri.diaryland.com
Tell me baby, do you recognise me
2008-12-13 | 11:49 a.m.

Why is chocolate so addictive? After my work party (party 2 of 4) on Thursday, I came home and managed to eat all but two of the Christmas tree decorations.

*Snorts* I just read that back and realise it makes me sound like a bauble-munching maniac. But no, just the ones constructed from chocolate.

So parties 2 and 3 are done and dusted. 2 was our head office one, in...the head office for previously mentioned credit crunch reasons. A lot of my workmates boycotted it, but I went along with Alexis, Katy and Chris and despite its crappiness (cheap sausage rolls and cans of Carling) we all had a surprisingly good time. It's the people you're with who make it. We also got to meet the new trainee stenographers and put them right about a few lies our company likes to tell. Eg. No, you won't be earning �80,000 a year after doing your training. One girl's response was akin to that of a small child who'd just been told Santa's face had been bitten off by a reindeer.

Party #3 was yesterday at the Old Bailey and was just really lovely. I couldn't face alcohol but limeade is pretty rocking, so I succeeded in being quite sprightly regardless. We had Christmas FM on, ate loads of delicious food and then migrated to a pub (the Cock on Fleet Street) to get over-excited playing the pub quiz machine and continue the festivities.

So that brings us up to today, my imminent plans being going to the gym then Lidl to replace the tree chocolates as that's where I got them from first time round. Unfortunately, if Lidl was a fictional character, I'd describe it as Jekyll and Hyde. There are some real bargains in there - chocolate, drinks, houseware items, and even their fruit and vegetables are of a surprisingly flavoursome and acceptable quality. But some of the products in there...JUST SAY NO. Instead of buying Lidl honey, you may as well empty the contents of a drain into a jar, add a bit of sugar and bees and have something of a similar standard. And don't get me started on the breakfast cereal 'Little Nougat Pillows'. Two of the three words of the name breach the Trades Description Act. Gag.

This evening we're having a very small party (number of people attending: three...and two of those are me and Jenn) to have dinner and wine and watch the X Factor final. I personally think X Factor is a load of guff but I'll still watch it despite this and secretly hope that the boy who looks like a Furby doesn't win.

Tomorrow me and Gaz are going off to get a bit of culture by going to see a War and Medicine exhibition. Yay. I love stuff like this. I might attempt to drag him down to the Christmas market on the Southbank afterwards but will have to play it by ear I think. This weekend should be good. Now, if only the rain would stop...

previous | next