strawberrri.diaryland.com
Don't leave me alone like this
2008-12-17 | 9:25 p.m.

A sad, sad day. Today in Sainsbury's I got ID'd buying a bottle of wine (which is fine in itself, shop policy and blah di blah) and upon studying my driving license, the cashier told me I looked good for my age.

Since when was 24 considered old?! For the record, I don't 'look good for my age', I just look my age. Seriously, I thought he was going to start asking me about my pension, which denture adhesive I use and whether my old creaky bones were keeping warm enough this winter.

Though speaking of creaky bones, God are my knees fucked. A couple of weeks ago, I decided to try out a new hobby: running.

Since moving to London I've been going to the gym in order to maintain a moderate level of fitness (and because I managed to haggle Fitness First down to half price...just refuse to pay full price, persevere, and the offers will come flooding in). The gym isn't my favourite place in the world - I love outdoor exercise in the countryside. I'd spend ten minutes on several machines each time I went and was getting bored with it.

So a couple of Saturdays ago I decided to get on the treadmill, lose myself in my headphones and see how long I could run for. I ran for 30 minutes. This intrigued me, so when I went back last Monday I thought I'd see if it was a one off or whether I could do it again. I ran for 40 minutes and covered six kilometres. On Saturday I ran for an hour and did nine, Sunday I did six again and yesterday seven.

And now have no knees left.

I'm going back to the gym tomorrow but plan on taking it easy.

Christmas in one week, oh good. Jenn and I still aren't behaving with the chocolate tree decorations and despite my replacing them all the other day we're yet again down to a grand total of three. Thank God we didn't make any popcorn garlands or else I'm sure I could be found crouched under the branches guiltily slurping one up as if it were a particularly long strand of spaghetti.

My last day of work should be Tuesday, and I'm glad. I'll just be doing bits and bobs as my current trial has now adjourned until the New Year. I'm relieved as it's been hard going and we've been sitting til nearly 5.00 most days (I know that doesn't sound all that late but court life is pretty intense). At the end of today a few of the barristers gave me a lovely present of a massive tin of Italian biscuits and a box of chocolates as a thank you and I was quite touched! I guess they're not all bad, though I'm not one to hold grudges and these days even tend to be pleasant and friendly to Mr Cunt QC. Life's too short.

I have Gaz's work Christmas party on Friday. Must behave impeccably, or at least try to. Well, I can't promise I'll try, but I'll try to try.


previous | next