strawberrri.diaryland.com
I'll dream you're mine
2009-01-21 | 7:02 p.m.

Ah, I'm in a much more positive frame of mind today. Nothing is different, essentially, but me and Jenn are off to look at some two-bedroom properties tomorrow.

Even if none are what we want, we have time and can keep looking. It probably will take a little bit of time to find the right place, as we so desperately want to stay specifically in Wandsworth Common (and live among the rich and famous). It's so lovely here. Jenn's lived in some rough places in London and I still have the memories of when I lived on Prostitute Street in Leicester, in my second year of uni, so when you find an area you love living in you end up wanting to grab hold of it and not leave unless someone drags you away kicking and screaming.

I'm not alone in the house anymore either, as there's a spider in the utility room. I sent it a telepathic message: 'You stay here and we'll get on fiiiine.' I'm more bothered about the foxes in the garden who sound like burglers, but overall I'm coping more than adequately and even indulging in two showers a day, just because yes, I can. Isn't my life one big festival of excitement?! (Please don't answer that.)

Actually, the Old Bailey today had a fire and then a power cut, which was fairly exciting. Messages were flashing up on the court clerks' computers, saying that there was only one hour left of emergency power to get all the prisoners out and back to prison, so we all shut up shop by half 3 (on the ONE DAY I was planning on staying late to work on a transcript whose deadline is fast approaching. Typical).

The event that made me most pleased today though was just before I went to lunch, when my court clerk, Tim, told me one of the members of the jury had been asking whether I was single. This was compounded when I came back from lunch and my court usher N* (sorry, her name's a bit rare and Google-ble) announced loudly, 'You have an admirer!'

Obviously it's flattering, but I feel pleased to the extent that I think I should probably re-evaluate my relationship with Gaz...

My trial began in October and will be finished, I would say, within the next week and a half. It'll be in the news, but I can't say anymore than that for now!

I know it's not good to wish your life away, but I long for spring and summer...

previous | next