strawberrri.diaryland.com
SNOW DAY!
2009-02-02 | 6:36 p.m.

SNOW DAY TODAY! London's pretty much shut down due to 8+ inches of white powdery joy, so no work today and none tomorrow. Hooray!

Wandsworth Common is a fantastic place to have a snow day and Jenn came to join me for a bit of chilly fun.

The Common was abundant with snowpeople of all shapes and sizes, including two sitting on a bench and another mimicking the boy from the Half Ton Son documentry. However the piece de resistance was undoubtedly a freaking IGLOO being built by a family, although mine and Jenn's effort wasn't bad at all.

I feel quite guilty though, as to create our snowmen's features we harvested the organs (plums, carrots) of a snowman by the bowling green, which had been brutally demolished. On our way back we saw a very sad little girl hugging the demolished snowman and tearfully asking, 'What's happened to Lizzie? What's happened to Lizzie? Lizzie's...melted!'

Heart-breaking stuff, snow.

Jenn and I were also interviewed by Capital FM (I think I talked bollocks, frankly) and had a child enquire of his parents, '*What* are they building?' in regards to our main snowman.

He may have resembled a totem pole for a long while but he came good in the end.

The garden last night.

Photobucket

And this morning.

Photobucket

Photobucket

My street.

Photobucket

Walking to Wandsworth Common. It was like Narnia.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Jenn with our proud creations.

Photobucket

Me and the little one. We felt very sad leaving them, I have to say. But at least I didn't cry, unlike the last time I watched the Snowman.

Photobucket

It was only a year or so ago I watched the Snowman too. Oh the shame.

previous | next