strawberrri.diaryland.com
Until I got high
2009-06-02 | 9:07 p.m.

What a beautiful day it's been today!

I've just got in from having been sat on Wandsworth Common, reading a book and enjoying the June evening sunshine.

But I am slightly concerned - both today and yesterday I have had peculiar 'episodes' where I've felt dizzy and spaced out for a minimum of two hours, and intoxicated, although more like being stoned than drunk.

The first happened yesterday when I was in town in a charity shop and I began feeling utterly bizarre - a feeling that didn't pass and made me question whether it was a good idea for me to drive my car home. I found my body worked fine, but it felt like my mind had popped out and I was watching things from either above or the side. This feeling didn't leave me for a very long time, was more unpleasant than pleasant, but eventually went once I was back home and had eaten some lunch.

Today in court it hit me again. It's so difficult to describe but it's like my body and brain have divorced each other, are two completely separate entities and yet I'm still vaguely in control of both.

And feeling 'stoned' whist in operation of court procedures was even worse, as I couldn't get up and leave. During a break I mentioned it to my usher, who suggested I may be pregnant (my greatest fear thanks! But which is hopefully hugely unlikely as I'm currently menstruating - apologies for TMI - and if I am then I would be quite a bit pregnant and basically fucked) and then said I should go and see matron (yep, the Old Bailey has its own matron - it's like being in a 1950s boarding school).

I truly hope I don't get it again tomorrow, but if anyone has any idea what it's likely to be then please, please let me know.

Other than that things have been splendid. Jenn brought me in an otter birthday cake today. She promised she'd taken a picture of it before it got devoured at work so I'll put a picture up as soon as I have access to one. Chocolate otters are clearly the greatest things ever, there's no doubt about that.

previous | next