strawberrri.diaryland.com
Tuesday
2009-08-25 | 8:41 p.m.

Since I began working at the Old Bailey, some court cases have had an impact on me, or troubled me, but I'm not sure I've been so disturbed as the case I've been in for the past few weeks.

It was a murder trial which was clear cut in its prosecution and defence. A young woman and her significantly older long-term partner lived on the eighth floor of a block of flats. And one night she either committed suicide by jumping over the balcony, or it was down to him.

He threw her over.

Worryingly, this man had been free to roam the streets since the jury in a previous trial in February failed to reach a verdict. The judge bafflingly gave him bail in the run-up to his retrial.

This means I had the displeasure of seeing him everywhere - wandering around the building where he would make conversation by apologising for talking too fast in the witness box, or loitering outside the Old Bailey in his pork pie hat, smoking his roll ups. He would even go out of his way to say hello to me as I was waiting to get on my bus.

I started having nightmares about him trying to break into my house, or of being stuck on a train with him. He is truly a creepy fuck. Throwing someone off an eighth floor balcony is a crime beyond crimes - the details of the fatal injuries she suffered will never, ever leave me.

I missed the verdict as I wasn't at work today...arrrrgh! Though it's for a good reason - I've been in Prague since Friday until late last night for a short holiday with Jenn, Katy and Alexis. It was superb and a photo entry is coming very, very soon!

previous | next