strawberrri.diaryland.com
Year in Review
2009-12-30 | 8:40 p.m.


1. What did you do in 2009 that you'd never done before?


Ran 12 km (only the other week! In an attempt to burn off all the chilli I ate at Alexmas).

2. Did you keep your new year's resolutions, and will you make more for next year?

Can't remember. And next year I would like to find a new house to live in please.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?

My work friends Katie and Clare. Babies still unnerve me.

4. Did anyone close to you die?

My friend Sam...though I suppose that was technically last year. Hopefully in 2010 she can be laid to rest finally.

5. What countries did you visit?

Czech Republic - Prague. Beautiful, beautiful place with cheap beer, boats and a five-storey nightclub.

6. What would you like to have in 2010 that you lacked in 2009?

Vitamin C! Scurvy's no barrel of laughs...

Or on a serious note, a better relationship with my dad. Maybe I will try phoning him more after all.

7. What date from 2009 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

None.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?

Maintaining my physical fitness...though I need to do something intellectual again dammit!

9. What was your biggest failure?

Oh the MANY DATES I HAD.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?

A couple of colds, a blocked sinus a little while ago. I have been very lucky. I think the worst pain I've suffered was a couple of months ago when I got cramp in my left calf muscle in the middle of the night which was so bad that I *screamed* and then bit my arm to keep from screaming more. I had red jagged bite marks on my arm for three days after.

11. What was the best thing you bought?

Glastonbury ticket, as always.

12. Whose behaviour merited celebration?

"Celebration" is a pretty strong word. My mum has been pretty great, as have my friends.

13. Whose behaviour made you appalled and depressed?

Personally, no one. My landlord was a bit of a dick but I'm not one to hold grudges.

14. Where did most of your money go?

Rent and bills. Maybe a Ferrari next year.

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?

Glastonbury. Stuart :)

16. What song will always remind you of 2009?

Empire of the Sun - We are the People.

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:

(i) Happier or sadder?

Same.

(ii) Thinner or fatter?

Fatter. Oh HOW I AM FATTER. About a stone, if you were wondering. Due to my exercise habits some of it is hidden and my legs are more toned than they've ever been in my life, but I wouldn't dare to try to fit in a size 10 right now.

(iii) Richer or poorer?

Same. Possibly poorer, but only in monetary terms.

18. What do you wish you'd done more of?

Nothing springs to mind.

19. What do you wish you'd done less of?


Eating chocolate fucking Santas!

20. How will you be spending Christmas?

I spent it with my mum's family, like usual.

21. How will you be spending New Year?

With Stuart. The "how" bit is yet to be ascertained!

22. Did you fall in love in 2009?


Um...

23. How many one-night stands?

I don't think I had any *one night* stands and I'm not elaborating on that.

24. What was your favourite TV programme?

Rediscovery = Men Behaving Badly.

New discovery = The Inbetweeners.


25. Do you hate anyone now that you didn't hate this time last year?

No.

26. What was the best book you read?

Probably We Need to Talk About Kevin
, though it certainly wasn't a cheery read.

27. What was your greatest musical discovery?

I have started liking some commercial R n B...yikes!

28. What did you want and get?


One day I wanted sushi and I got sushi :D

29. What did you want and not get?

One day I wanted sushi but there was none left :(

30. What was your favourite film of this year?

Up. No contest.


31. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?

I was 25. I had the day off work (involuntarily!) and went for a meal with Katie and Reeta.


32. What is one thing that would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?


Je ne rien le regrette! Or something.

33. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2009?


Miniskirts and tights. I have worn jeans approximately once this year.

34. What kept you sane?

Living with Jenn.

35. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?

David Miliband. (?!)

36. What political issue stirred you the most?


The MP expenses scam. The guy who bought a "duck island" for his garden with the tax payer's money is a cunt in a league of his own.

37. Who did you miss?

The past week, Stuart. Immeasurably.

38. Who was the best new person you met?

See above.


39. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2009.

I'm sure I've done stupid things and then thought, "I'll never do that again!" But I can't remember what they are. How helpful.

40. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year
.

"Fill up my cup!
Mazel Tov!"

I wrote another entry, like, mere hours ago. Tis here.

previous | next