strawberrri.diaryland.com
Can't you be believing now
2010-08-19 | 8:48 p.m.

Do you know what I did on Sunday? Crashed my bloody car. Into someone else's bloody car. As you can imagine, this was not good. Fortunately it was on a roundabout; the car in front was stationary and I was going at a supersonic 5-ish mph so no injuries, though I wish I could say the same for the vehicles.

As I went into the back of someone, the responsibility is mine and I hold my hands up to that. But really, some people just don't know how drive. Sanctimonious possibly, but if you're waiting to pull out on a roundabout and there's no other traffic as far as the eye can see THEN DON'T JUST FUCKING SIT THERE, FOR THE LOVE OF GOD.

I'm not bitter, I promise. The man I crashed into was very nice about it, which is more than I can say for the middle-aged male passenger he had, who got out and had to be physically restrained by someone, which panicked and scared me so much that I leapt into the passenger seat, then decided to switch my ignition on and because I'd left it in gear went into them again (I AM NOT MAKING THIS UP).

Anyway, drivers have insurance for a reason, though as mine was third party only I would have to pay for my own repairs, which would be too much and...sniff...my little car is now...gulp...going to the big garage in the sky. SOB!

A very sad day, but a decision that will make me richer in the long run. And now I don't have to go through the hassle of explaining to the MOT man why, exactly, my car was growing moss. I don't know where it came from but it certainly wasn't there a few months ago. In the end I was half expecting to wake up and find a sunflower sprouting out of the bonnet, or perhaps discover some turnips nestled inside the gearbox.

Some things just aren't meant to be.

Speaking of which, I never heard back from the Barrister after he went on holiday. Conclusion? MEH.

Ah well, at least I have a trip to Amsterdam to look forward to in exactly two weeks from today. I'm going for four nights with Tim (as in Tim the Pirate from a few entries ago, with whom I got up to mischief at my house party). It's absolutely NOT a romantic getaway (after he apologised for 'taking advantage of [me] whilst we were both drunk' and proclaimed it 'not cool'. Why, that's not insulting at all...!). We're staying in a hostel together in a 20-person room...yikes! I'm taking earplugs. Nevertheless I look forward to things like spacecake and sex shows and hope we don't end up wanting to kill each other by the end of it.

I've done other less destructive things lately too, including going to the seaside with Rachel last week and this week swimming (Achilles injury = no running) and life drawing. I may not be a paragon of virtue but I do try!

previous | next