strawberrri.diaryland.com
Another Tipperary Christmas
2010-12-19 | 2:47 p.m.

I have to say, December's been my favourite month this year by miles. I've been non-stop CHEERFUL, and that's despite being plagued by chronic insomnia (One of my friends: 'I think someone's a bit *too* excited about Christmas.') and it being immensely chilly.

And then there's been the snow. OH THE SNOW! I naively barely registered the forecast when a sprinkling of sorts was on the agenda. But then yesterday morning about 15 cm fell ferociously in the space of just a few hours. I got up and when the Journo had left (more on that later!) I decided I would like to enjoy a little jog outside before going to Alexmas in the afternoon and ventured out despite the unrepentant blizzard. Never doing that again - I had on jogging bottoms, a coat, a grimace, an umbrella and my entire face felt like it was suffering from an ice cream headache. Brrr.

Then getting to Alexmas in Greenwich was compromised and took about three times as long as it should have done, but everyone else struggling to travel for some reason seemed festively delighted and in the very best spirits. Jenn and I hopped into a pub at London Bridge while our train was indefinitely delayed but luckily things got moving again. I loved Alexmas but curled up under the Christmas tree after we'd had a mouth-wateringly delicious Alexmas dinner and promptly fell into a deep sleep. This deep sleep was punctuated by only a tiny amount of being in the land of the awake before realising everyone was gone and ended up cosily bedding down for the night on the sofa.

Today I took a detour through Greenwich Park on my journey home. How can people be cross with the weather when we're rewarded with this incomparable beauty?

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Anyway, I'm sure last night's snoozing was at least in part because it'd been my third social activity in as many days. Thursday was the official company Christmas drinks, at a twinkly champagne bar. There was a raffle and Jenn won first prize and me second (amidst cries of 'Fix!'). Lots of Jo Malone goodies, which are lovely, though I'm not sure either of us possess the ability to fully appreciate a �40 candle, and there was concern over whether the Basil shower gel would make one smell like a pizza. Secretly hope it does - I bloody love pizza.

Friday was the unofficial company drinks, on the top floor of a pub we like on Fleet St. I invited the Old Bailey press to come along and after a bit the Journo and another of the guys showed up. Wonderful! So we were chatting and drinking for a couple of hours and then the next thing I knew they were no longer there and I got a text message apology about them not feeling massively comfortable by having gatecrashed. Slightly miffed.

By this point it was nearing midnight and I opted to get the last tube rather than accompany the other party people to Walkabout. Got home and then had the fantastic idea of inviting the Journo round to watch Groundhog Day. Nothing like a bit of Bill Murray and Andie MacDowell at 1 o'clock in the morning. Oh and sex of course... The next day I (rather proudly) realised we'd made one of the pictures on my wall land on the floor! Not sure if this is just a fling or not but who cares - I'm just living my life and not going to beat myself up over the decisions I make. I truly haven't been this happy in ages.

previous | next