strawberrri.diaryland.com
Who am I to tell you
2006-06-25 | 5:59 p.m.

I put my disposable camera in to be developed today and when the cashier asked for a contact number I burbled some random digit sequence and immediately afterwards asked myself what the fuck I had just done. It took me about five minutes to realise I'd given a landline number that we used to have, but have not had since 1997. I'd like to know what happened there. From time to time I seriously worry about my brain.

Well! I'm back from Norfolk and I must say that was one of the most delightful holidays I have ever been on. It's taken until today to stop feeling like I'm on a boat. (ARR!) The Norfolk Broads, it would seem, could pass for a wonderful giant wildlife park and are without a doubt one of the most beautiful, unspoiled places you can go in this country. It was just heavenly. And YES I got to drive the boat and no I didn't crash it. How savvy is that.

As well as visiting various places on the Broads and doing activities such as fishing, walking, pubbing and fish and chip-eating, we also went to Great Yarmouth for the day, where I inexplicably managed to cripple my thighs bending down to pick up the tuppennies I won on the tuppenny falls in the various arcades (where the boyfriend and I managed to win an incredible amount of tat - I've never felt such exhiliration over winning tat, such as some fake Tic-Tacs that passed their Best Before two years ago).

The only bad things that happened were that one of his dad's dogs NEARLY DIED A DEATH BY DROWNING. We stopped for a spot of fishing on a bank somewhere and he decided to have a swim in the river. And then he decided to swim inbetween the riverbank and a several-tonne boat, almost crushing himself but managed to be dragged out by the collar. I was also terrorised by a dragonfly which, after swooping around my head for a minimum of fifteen minutes, decided that one of the boyfriend's sisters was a flower and landed on her back.

A very good time indeed. I'll chuck some of my pictures up when I get them back (I have a Swallowtail butterfly, a peacock, a donkey, goats, herons, swans, kingfishers, you name it) but for now the boyfriend has emailed me some of his camera phone pictures, because sometimes words just aren't enough, especially when they're coming from a mind like mine, which today somehow became stuck nine years in the past with that whole phone number shebang.

The Dog What Nearly Drowned (named Angus) and a windmill.

Hound and windmill

A black swan! Native from Australia, so I was told.

Blackie

The Broads. Just Beautiful.

So, so pretty

Me on the boat, with Angus and Sam, holding a book called 'Ghosts of the Broads' which was full of funny but ridiculous tales written in the 1930s.

Me and doggies

My boy and me:

Ahh...

What I'd look like to a Borrower.

Like, woah

Just before he got a train home today.

Bye bye

And slightly irrelevant but this was Bierfest - note how the beer glass I was holding while he took the photo is nearly twice the size of my head.

Bier ist gut!

previous | next