strawberrri.diaryland.com
We slip and slide
2009-12-30 | 8:02 p.m.

I have had a very, very, very busy past week. I would never say I'm Christmas's biggest fan but it certainly breaks up the monotony of winter and forces you to catch up with your loved ones.

A summary (merely for my future self to look back on one day - I can't promise it won't be utter drivel):


Christmas Eve

I went out with my brother, a large selection of all our old school friends and my ex-workmate Tim. I was the sober-est person there WHICH WAS VERY ODD. In fact when midnight arrived, Tim and I were the only ones who noticed, had a brief hug to mark the occasion and approximately one hour later Katie stumbled up to me declaring, 'Issss *hic* CHRISTMAS!' shortly before being bundled into a taxi. My brother pulled my friend Reeta, an event which I did not hugely want to be a spectator for and so Tim and I made good our escape, dropping him at the train station on the way and unfortunately at which there existed no trains. Thank God for parents.

Christmas Day

Had presents with my mum, stepdad and brother, went for a bike ride on my own (one of my favourite bits of the day, in fact. Regards, Ebenezer). We then journeyed to my gran's in rural Hertfordshire whereupon the stepdad drank a few too many beers before dinner, succeeded in unwittingly irritating my uncle and cousin and then promptly fell asleep, asnoring. A pleasant enough day.

Boxing Day

I drove myself and brother Adam to my dad's to spend the day with my dad, stepmum, stepmum's parents and my darling half-brother (who is not yet SIX yet has a Wii, mobile phone and freaking digital camera!). Went to watch the Cambridge - Stevenage footie match with Dad and Adam (complete with bronchially-challenged man directly behind me coughing phlegm into my hair), and back for food, booze and Only Fools and Horses.

I was so happy to see my dad again but he had the cheek to ask me why I "didn't phone him more"! Surely that's the parent's main responsibility?! I put this forward as my argument only to be beaten down with "But I am depressed!" which was topped with "I may be moving to Barcelona again." I cannot - CANNOT - win.

The Day after Boxing Day

Went to Saffron Walden with Dad and Adam and then later drove myself to Rachel's, went to the fish shop (YAR) and then back to her mum's house. I was aware I was an unexpected guest but certainly wasn't planning on outstaying my welcome (and Rachel's mum has known me since I was born!). I was greeted by Rach's stepdad (jokingly?) bellowing, "We were hoping for some peace and quiet - we've only just got rid of Nana and Jamie!" We then fled to her brother's house and reminisced about the times of olde (being in a freezing caravan in Norfolk and no one owning up to knocking a bottle of shampoo down the toilet. Chuckle).

I'm beginning to tire of my own written word... On the 28th I went to see Sherlock Holmes with Katie et al and yesterday I went round Tori's and stayed most of today and we had the cosiest time ever, mainly staying wrapped in blankets except for when we made coconut chicken curry for lunch (thanks Now! magazine!).

Tomorrow I fiiiiiiinally get to see Stuart! He's been in New York with his family - his brother lives there. I have no idea what we're doing. I personally hope it's fuck all other than his suggestion of "dinner and a cuddle", but then again I am a Funsponge.

I'm going to nick Jo's year in review, but do it in a separate entry as I'm sure your (and my) poor brains can't take so much twaddle and parentheses in one go.

previous | next