strawberrri.diaryland.com
15th August
2022-08-15 | 4:17 p.m.

Back from Norfolk, been home as long as we were away! Three days is enough?! No idea what I was thinking. I made my wonderful brother- and sister-in-law and Ollie promise we can go back, for longer, next summer, even though my brother-in-law was threatening to leave their dog at home next time. It seems a miniature schnauzer plus a miniature human equals maximum havoc. But I don't care, I loved it. Leo had his first trip to Wells, a childhood favourite of mine, and the village we stayed in, Castle Acre, was just perfect, all tranquil and countryside-y.

We had a beautiful, flower-engulfed walled garden at the back of our little cottage and one of the highlights for me was having a little hummingbird hawk moth visit each day. I'd never seen one before but they are just fascinating and I'm now totally obsessed. Leo and I have been to our local RHS gardens today (he's napping in the car on the driveway so I may have to finish this later if he wakes up) and I had a quick Google of what these hummingbird fellows like and one of the flowers was a petunia, which we were standing in front of at the shop as said Google search took place! So we bought that, plus a little duck soap that Leo has named "What a disaster". Children are odd, yes?

It's the funeral soon, at the end of the week. I feel a bit nervous but just want Frank to have the send off he deserves. I think there'll be a lot of people in attendance. Will maybe post again before, not sure, just if I need to.

previous | next