strawberrri.diaryland.com
This is what I want to be
2005-08-12 | 8:02 a.m.

Can I just say that when you go out and have an old school friend who works on the bar who not only undercharges you but also makes your vodka beverage the same strength they enjoy across the continent, you will end up more plastered than a kid who's gone ten rounds with Timmy Mallett. (If you don't get that I wouldn't worry, but I'm not getting into a big explanation of how Timmy Mallett was a children's TV presenter of the late 80s/early 90s who stuck plasters on children's bodies [not in a paedo-ish way] and said 'Bleurgh!' a lot...oh, look what just happened!)

So...job interview. Was pretty damn scary and has thoroughly convinced me that interviews are things which are Not Fun. The job isn't a particularly important one yet I had a half hour interview with two people - a man and a woman. The woman was fine, friendly and helpful and basically tried to make things as smooth as possible for me. The bloke, however, happened to be a complete cock who seemed to think he was in charge of the universe. No niceties or asking what my hobbies were, he just rugby-tackled me with a load of arsey, difficult questions specific to the company.

Now despite popular belief I'm not as stupid as you may think and I did actually do my research by going on the company's (it's a recruitment consultancy-mabob) website, so I felt more prepared than I perhaps could have been. But the cock asked me question after question about the company itself, including what I thought its main problems were. I gave my answer (which was something wanky about...fuck knows, I can't remember now), which apparently was the RIGHT answer. Phew! But it wasn't enough, which the cock made clear when he asked 'Ok...but what else?' I was stumped. The woman had a checklist of 'qualities' and at the end I noticed she'd circled 'Shows initiative'. Unfortunately 12 of the 14 points remained uncircled.

So that was fun and obviously a HUGE boost to my self-esteem that I'm actually employable.

I'm going to see the New Bloke again today. Would you believe next month will mark our half-year anniversary? He's not really New anymore but he is a Bloke so I will keep that name for now I think. It's also really sad that I've only gone three days without him yet long to be with him already, though knowing he feels the same helps.

Well, this has been long and rambly. I hope you enjoyed.

previous | next