strawberrri.diaryland.com
June
2023-06-08 | 11:02 a.m.

Loving life right now - I spent Tuesday in court with Prince Harry! Providing a realtime transcript for the barristers, legal parties and judge. Managed to keep my cool mostly, though I accidentally wrote "on your period" instead of "on your birthday" (period is P-RD and birthday PW-RD; PW being a B in steno language). Anyway, I think I managed to correct it before anyone noticed.

I've been low-level nervous about this for weeks so also kind of glad it's over. Plus I'm job-sharing with another colleague and didn't know if his evidence would fall on one of my days, but we got a day each in the end so that worked out great.

The arbitrations I work in where lawyers spend eight weeks arguing about some rusty paint on a ship are going to seem mighty dull in comparison after this.

Last week was court and preschool half term and also my birthday, so we went up to my mum's for a couple of days and took Leo to Fort Knebworth/Knebworth House (a place Elizabeth I used to visit - I do love mingling with these royals!). Within revealed insanely beautiful gardens, dinosaurs and and in the fort section of the grounds was a giant wibbly slide, my going on which gave Leo his first taste of being embarrassed by a parent - he on multiple occasions queried, "Mummy, why are you screaming?" with more than a hint of exasperation in his voice.

The weekend before that Ollie and I had a couple of days in Bury St Edmunds, with Leo holidaying at his auntie's. Did some great walks and enjoyed exploring the place in the late spring sunshine. May and June are just the best, aren't they!

previous | next