strawberrri.diaryland.com
Woooo-hoooo
2009-09-11 | 5:50 p.m.

I'm still trying to work out if Jenn and I are living the lives of Monica and Rachel from Friends or Carrie and Samantha from Sex and the City, or just a big amalgamation of all of them.

I've had quite a good week! Work has been ridiculous. Today I sat four minutes in court and yesterday two. Now, this is fantastic once in a while but I've been feeling like I just *want to do work*.

Monday was the only day I did a full day in court and it is a day that shall stay with me for a very long time. No morbid murders, just a scrap between one bloke and another. We got to hear how the defendant, knowing he'd done wrong, answered the door to the police and as he was being arrested said the immortal words...

"Hello, is it me you're looking for?"

I nearly lost it. My shoulders began shaking and I couldn't concentrate on what I was meant to be doing as I was too busy suppressing the urge to go BWAHAHAHAHAHAHAAAAAA!

En-ee-wayy...

I went on a date yesterday! Background: Last Tuesday me, Jenn, Alexis and a few others went to an 80s movies-themed pub quiz in Highgate (which I was shit at, being alive for a mere six years of the 80s). A guy who was there ended up chatting to us throughout the evening and asked for my number just before we left.

Fast forward a bit and we're in Skylon - a bar based inside the Royal Festival Hall at Waterloo.

Well fuck me, what a fantastic place to have a drink!

It overlooks the Thames and we had a seat by the window, with glorious panoramic views of the water at night time, glistening under all the lights. That was one of the best first dates I've been on. He was friendly and interesting, and interested in me. And you cannot imagine my delight when he told me that he used to present a quiz show on a crappy cable TV channel, which we worked out was probably pretty much the same ilk as the Very Expensive Phone Quiz Day of my third year at uni.

In short, he was great.

However, I'm going on a date with somebody else next week. Out for Tori's birthday in Watford last Saturday I got talking to (and ended up kissing, as you do) someone (who did not take my compliment of "You look like Mr Bean!" very well), yet somehow he is coming to London on Wednesday and we are doing the whole dating shiz. Little does he know but he has a lot to live up to.

Ahh.

When I go to sleep at night all manner of weirdness whizzes through my brain, keeping me entertained until I'm ready to wake up in the morning. On that basis, I can say I'm utterly living the dream.

previous | next