strawberrri.diaryland.com
Never trust a salesman (or woman)
2002-08-16 | 1:59 p.m.

Since the phoneline in my room isn't ex-directory, I find myself inundated with calls from companies trying to unshelve their products onto unwilling victims. You know, double glazing, gas and electricity and suchlike.

Anyway, I used to be terribly rude to such people when they phone up. For example, wait until they've spent five minutes explaining their product and then say, "Er.. can you repeat all that please? I wans't listening," or just hang up on them.

I once had a guilt trip over this and so the next time one of these people rang up I just agreed to whatever they said.

"Blah blah blah blahblahblah offers, blah blah junkmail?"

"Um, ok, yeah."

Next thing I know there is a letter in the post from the person I had pretended to be my mum to on the phone addressed to both my parents announcing they've won a prize and will be taken to Milton Keynes to receive it amid a huge publicity campaign thing.

And if I'm honest, I don't know how I'm going to get out of this one.

previous | next