strawberrri.diaryland.com
I never did like goodbyes...
2002-09-21 | 9:22 p.m.

As someone, I forget who, once said, the only thing permanent in life is change.

Tomorrow (come on, I've gone on about it enough) I make the huge leap of leaving home for the first time and not only will I not know anyone in the place I'm going to live, the whole place is pretty much unfamiliar territory to me. The same thing just keeps going through my head as demonstrated in my dreams lately. I hope they like me I hope they like me I hope they like me I hope they like me I hope they like me.

But as my grandad said to me, "I hope Leicester's prepared for what's coming its way." I will probably end up drinking the bars dry. Ah well.

Today I went into town to get more passport photos, some eye makeup remover and a three litre box of red wine, which I hope will assist my new flatmates in the getting to know you process. Failing that I'm also taking a bottle of Archers and half of bottle of JD.

I got the bus into town and whilst waiting for it a little old lady started chatting to me. I think she was in the process of losing her marbles as she told me four times that her husband used to be a bus driver, twice that she belonged to a daycare centre and three times thought that tomorrow (Sunday) was Friday. "I go to the daycare centre on Mondays and Fridays so I'll be going tomorrow. It's Friday tomorrow isn't it?" She was sweet.

I think I have packed just about everything I'm going to need for the next three months. I just have to remember to unplug my tv tomorrow.I sent off for my tv licence today, as Soulwax would say, much against everyone's advice. However, I don't fancy paying a grand and a half of fines, especially since I read that it's estimated the average student spends 6,000 in their first year and my loan is only just under 4,000 and I don't want to get a job.

I will be getting the net in my room (a penny a minute. Woo!) as soon as my laptop arrives, and that should be in around three weeks, and I don't know if I'll get the chance to update this thing on the uni computers even though my course is only about six hours a week...I think.

I think I'll continue to drink this beer, watch Who Wants to be a Millionaire, attempt to shut my suitcases (at this moment in time it ain't happening) and spend the night being unable to sleep because I'm too scared and excited.

I never thought I'd see this day come, but here it is, arriving in approximately twelve hours.

Good bye.

x

previous | next