strawberrri.diaryland.com
Celebrate and dance so free
2004-08-30 | 7:38 p.m.

So...got in just a short while ago. The side door was wide open but it appears no one is in. The only trace of human life having been in the house is a recently used chopping board and a note from my brother saying he was off out to have what he termed a 'monopoly send off' (I can only assume this means going to London and attempting to drink at a pub at each and every one of the places on the Monopoly board. Attempting being the operative word I'd imagine) for his Australia-bound friends. He also mentioned how he thought the washing machine had flooded. My socks had already gone soggy from the carpet by this time so I foolishly opened the machine door, had a great waterfall tumble out then promptly shut it again.

Anyway, I spent today with Hannah and her family at Chessington (a Tussaud's theme park in Surrey), which was bloody good. I came back slightly drenched from the watery rides, a bit headachy from the head-bashy rides and with a slightly flushed complexion from too much sun but it was very definitely worth it. (They bought the photo from the log flume ride, where I pulled the most frog-like face I could manage, which was a lot froggier than you might imagine.) It's not just a theme park either, as it has animals. As soon as we got through the entrance we were greeted with a big pond-type thing full of otters. They really are the most fantastic animals. One of them was even playing keepy-uppy with a round pebble it'd found. Otters are great.

I go to Devon tomorrow until Wednesday. I expect it to be Devonish.

One more (slightly amusing) thing: a sort-of friend of mine from uni has decided to name his new Guinea pig after me. I have no idea whether to be flattered or insulted.

previous | next