strawberrri.diaryland.com
It's dare
2005-09-08 | 9:19 p.m.

So, the job interview. It was a complete and utter picnic in comparison to the dreadful ordeal I suffered a few weeks ago, so it looks likely I will have something to do once I return from Cyprus. In my interviewer's own words: 'There's a HIGH CHANCE there will be a position for you.' I must say I'll be disappointed if it results in nothing, but they took my bank details so it looks promising.

Would you believe I was there for an hour and ten minutes? Most of it was paperwork, however, and the nice lady interviewing me put me very much at ease. The paperwork involved proving I know how to lay out a letter aaaand...a maths test. Working out sums like 982 minus 34. With the aid of a calculator. I seriously hope I didn't get any wrong. Oh ok, there were more difficult questions which involved working out percentages, premium rates, taxes, pensions and whatnot, which seemed rather difficult when I first looked at them, but I think I managed.

Now, the reason I'm not able to start until I return from holiday is because next week, on the Friday, I am journeying to Penzance for a couple of days to witness my beautiful cousin Jenny get married, and join in with the post-wedding festivities (that'll be getting drunk, then). Now Penzance, being in Cornwall, is a very, VERY long way away from where I live and my dad had the bright idea that he, his wife and my half-brother will go there a few days early. This means I'll be spending seven hours each way on a train. With only my older brother for company. Oh God.

Tomorrow I'm going to see the New Bloke. Quelle surprise and all that jazz, but in spite of the fact that this weekend will be similar to many others, I can't wait to see him. Aaaaah...

Or not.

previous | next