strawberrri.diaryland.com
Motherfucker's gonna drop the pressure
2005-11-02 | 7:19 p.m.

I've not been feeling like the most committed diarist recently. The thing is, all the interesting stuff happens at the weekend, and then the rest of the time I'm working so if I'm having a 'creative' moment I can't just hop on to the net to type it up (we have Intranet and email but not Internet at work...something about distrust of employees...especially after two temps got fired for lying about how long they took for their lunch).

The fancy dress party on Saturday (which was actually ages ago in diarytime seeing how it's now Wednesday) was bloody good, though beforehand I suffered an episode of extreme self-consciousness so my outfit just ended up being...what I'd normally wear for a night out, with some tinsel attached to the hem of my skirt. I think I made the right decision considering we went to the Walkabout in Shaftesbury Avenue after and wanted to be drunk and happy but not laughed at.

I'm going to Leicester for Bonfire Night, which looks like it's going to be a massive uni reunion. I miss it there so much and every day the realisation is firmer in my mind that my traffic cone stealing days are over. (Not that I ever actually stole a traffic cone...but I did used to collect other 'souvenirs'.)

Work at work has dried up lately so I've mainly been doing odd jobs. Today I organised sending out 50 'Congratulations you're retiring in five months!' letters which not only was soul-destroying, but also very nearly caused me to lose the will to live. In fact I spent the day humming a song I made up in my head.

It went, 'Losing, losing, losing the will to live,' to the tune of 'Stealing, stealing, stealing a car for Moe.' And that is what my life's like at the moment.

previous | next