strawberrri.diaryland.com
Hiss
2006-08-28 | 7:09 p.m.

Hands up, who's been a victim of crime today?

.

.

.

.

.

.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

My bike and I have been parted and I am utterly bereft. This is the first time in ages when I've really wished I could turn back time and do things differently. I locked it up at the train station, with all the other bikes, saw the boyfriend off on his train then went round the shops for about an hour and a half. When I went back to cycle home my bike was gone. And I was absolutely gutted. It may sound ridiculous to some people but that bike was so much more to me than a lump of metal and some cogs - I'd had it for thirteen years, my little Raleigh Calypso. I always took care of it and it had a cosy little shed to live in and I have to say I wept on my walk home as I started thinking about someone trashing it then dumping its mangled remains in a ditch somewhere.

I have to stop as I'm welling up again.

My bloody phone broke today too. How much bad luck can one person have in one day? Though I have learnt from experience and fortunately had a spare phone in not too bad a condition, so I can't say I'm too heartbroken about that. As for my beloved bike, I've reported it to the police but I doubt I'll ever see it again. However I have the use of my late grandfather's bike, which I gave a go this afternoon in a big I-Won't-Be-Defeated kind of stance. It's ricketty and only has three gears but is a nice ride, so that eases my loss quite a bit.

It's almost as if something or someone doesn't want me to own two vehicles at the same time (here's where news of a more joyful nature kicks my bad luck to the curb)...

I'M GETTING MY OWN CAR!

It's an N reg, red Nissan Micra in good condition and I will most likely be picking it up on Saturday. I can't wait even though I'm mildly terrified of going out on my own in a car (I don't think it bodes well that my driving instructor had to use the dual controls on the lesson before my test, ahaha...actually, it's not funny). I was really pleased with the insurance I got though (Tesco was the cheapest, followed by Sheilas' Wheels, then the ones on Confused.com). I was expecting it to cost in the region of �900 so was delighted to find it was �400 less than that.

In other non-vehicular news, the boyfriend and I went to see Snakes on a Plane yesterday, which is fantastic. It really scared me for the most part, though on several gory-ish bits near the end my sense of humour bored its way back into my brain and I began finding it hilarious. I think we were the only two people in the cinema to be sitting there giggling as snakes did what snakes are wont to do on a plane. Go and see for yourself is my advice.

I think this has been long enough. I've had it with these motherfucking words in this motherfucking entry!

previous | next