strawberrri.diaryland.com
August
2022-08-01 | 2:17 p.m.

I went and saw my stepdad and it was hard but I am so very very glad I was able to. Whether it is the last time, I don't know. Still on tenterhooks and checking my WhatsApp frequently for updates from my mum. The lumbar puncture got moved to today, also not sure if there might be an update from the doctor or something.

As I mentioned before, my mum had warned me of his appearance and so I was racked with nerves beforehand, but when I saw him I recognised him instantly and a little relief washed over me. He didn't look as bad as I'd imagined, but still not good by any stretch. We stayed for a bit over an hour I think. He slipped in and out of consciousness, occasionally speaking incoherently and seemed in some discomfort (wouldn't you if you'd been in the same bed for almost three weeks). A couple of flashes of recognition towards the end of our visit, but it was mostly me and mum chatting, and I held his hand for a time.

Being back at the house was worse in a way - no one would sit in "his" chair in the living room. Later the sight of his dressing gown knocked a powerful punch of unspeakable sadness into my gut.

Ollie, Leo (bear) and I are going to Norfolk next week with Ollie's sister and my brother-in-law, who are both great company and fun. Three nights. Like I said, I have limits on how long I am prepared to holiday with a three-year-old, even when it's my own. The timing feels bad, but sitting around waiting for something to happen would be so much worse, probably.



previous | next