strawberrri.diaryland.com
November
2022-11-08 | 10:26 a.m.

My Frank sunflower, the little seedling I found two days after he died, is now standing proudly at 1.5 feet tall! Its little face hasn't yet emerged, but is a promising mass of tightly assembled dark green leaves. I'm hoping if the weather remains reasonably mild I'll get to see it flower.

I also have a small selection of really mini sunflower seedlings on my kitchen window ledge, after I found them growing *inside* one of my bird feeders. I should have just left them really, but I'm too soft and thought if they're that enthusiastic I should give them a chance. I'm not expecting much of these ones mind.

Two and a bit weeks ago I went to my mum's in Stevenage to join in a memorial bike ride for Frank, organised by his other favourite countryside cafe. I wasn't originally planning on going but I'm so so glad I did, about 25 miles in total, which is more than enough for me these days. When we made it to our cafe pit stop we were invited to give a charitable donation in exchange for tea/coffee and cake, which was a great swap!

This particular cafe destination played a part in the last bike ride I ever did with Frank, which must be six months ago now. To go with our coffees we ordered crumpets with Marmite, and Frank warned me that I was about to receive approximately half a lifetime's size portion of Marmite on the side, but not to say anything else the owner may not be so generous in future! I'm happy to confirm that a ludicrous amount of Marmite still accompanies the crumpets. And now I'm craving Marmite crumpets again and also desperately need to stop writing the word "Marmite".

Everything else is fine and dandy really. We're looking at primary schools for Leo this week and next, as he'll be starting next September. I'm hoping full-time school might wear him out a bit more as he's up and ready to party at 5.50 am each day, meaning most nights I slip off to bed each night circa 9.30 pm - rock n roll, hey.

previous | next