strawberrri.diaryland.com
February
2023-02-02 | 9:40 a.m.

It's six months today since Frank died. This milestone has been playing on my mind the past few days but I'm not sure why. Maybe time without him is going too quickly; I don't really know. In November I remember thinking it'd been six months since the last time I'd actually spent proper time with him.

We'd gone out belatedly for lunch for my mum's birthday, to a rural cafe in a polytunnel, with notoriously grumpy staff, who lived up to their reputation, hilariously. We arrived and ordered some drinks, and when we returned having decided on our food one of them bellowed charmingly, "What do you want NOW!?"

Ollie and Leo had travelled to our venue in my mum's car and I was driven by Frank. He had almost finished his chemo for lymphoma and we thought that'd be that and he'd be well and healthy again. The world had other plans. It was a carefree and fun day, me and Mum playing hide-and-seek with Leo in the cafe's small garden centre; Ollie and Frank bravely ordering more coffees after our lunch. Treasured memories of a beautiful May weekend. Anyway, if anyone reading this needs a recommendation for a lunch spot in the Hertfordshire countryside then hit me up yo.

I worked the last three days which I quite enjoyed, probably because I was at home and not schlepping off to London in the sleet like I did the other week. I love attending virtual court in my slippers! Today is a day off and Leo is at pre-school day. I'm trying to do more cooking of new things; I'm a big fan of both cooking and eating.

So far this year I've tried making a pasta dish with an entire block of feta in it. I don't think we'll be having that again. Last week I made a Meera Sodha daily dal (as a side dish for another curry) which was insanely delicious and I highly recommend. This morning I'm making a Mary Berry salmon and broccoli fish pie. And then a walk in the glorious sunshine and diamond painting if there's time. A happy day, hopefully.

previous | next