strawberrri.diaryland.com
January
2023-01-23 | 11:02 a.m.

Belated happy new year one and all. I hope everyone who frequents this old-friend of a website is well and happy. I think I've just about recovered from Xmas and am at that point in the month where I wake up each day, rub my eyes and think "Aw man, it's STILL January!?" On the plus side everything looks lovely covered in frost.

We went to see Ollie's mum on Saturday, the last time I saw her being circa 7am Boxing Day, she having stayed over Christmas night (I lie: I only heard her for I was hiding in my bed while she ranted, raved then stormed home without saying goodbye). I can't remember if I ever wrote about her properly in here; probably not. She has long-term depression and by Ollie's calculations she's OK a third of the time, "on the turn" a third of the time and the last third is diabolical and we do not see her. Her behaviour includes phoning up Ollie just so she can hang up on him, and knocking over all the chairs at a village hall event because she wasn't receiving enough attention. She is also banned from her local Indian restaurant (admittedly I'm chuckling as I write this one).

Fortunately we were on the receiving end of the "OK" version on Saturday and had a pleasant day. It's in my mind we will need to protect Leo from this in the future, but that's a problem for further down the line.

Well, this has been cheerful.

Leo is at pre-school today and I'm not working so have a day of blissful solitude. I already did a long walk in the country park. My next dilemma is whether to carry on with my "diamond painting" project (which is pretty much painting-by-numbers with gemstones - no talent required whatsoever!) or carry on reading Matthew Perry's autobiography. I'm up to the bit where he's going out with Julia Roberts but sadly I think pretty soon she's heading to Dumpsville: population her. Have a great week everyone.

previous | next