strawberrri.diaryland.com
November
2023-11-09 | 12:27 p.m.

Gawd, you'd think with a child now in school I might actually have time to get all the things I need to do done, but apparently not! I do, however, have a to-do list, which is half the battle, I enthusiastically tell myself. I did eat my biggest metaphorical frog this morning though, phoning the boiler man (speaking to tradespeople on the phone, shudder) to chase up our service I previously contacted him for about a month ago. He didn't answer, then called back while I was on the toilet, so that was nice. When I eventually got hold of him he rambled on for five minutes about why he'd never been in touch, cementing my dislike of talking to people on the phone, ESPECIALLY him.

I've also become a person who does ironing, after vowing to never waste my life on something so dull. But only for Leo, in an attempt to make sure he's not rocking the street urchin look when he goes to school. Poor kid's hair sticks up one side like a peacock so we only half manage that anyway. I hoped and hoped he wouldn't inherit my hair, which has the texture of a wire wool that's been knocked about in a storm. If it wasn't for the advent of hair straighteners I doubt I'd have had any boyfriends at all in my late teens, truly.

I think I didn't manage an entry here last month, but October mostly consisted of Leo turning five, making him a cake to the theme of Grizzy and the Lemmings, complete with edible fondant characters (or "bastard fondant" as I like to wistfully think of it as), heading to Legoland to celebrate said birthday and also catching Covid about a week after that. Much milder this time and I also got to stay at home and attend my trial via videolink for the three days I worked that week, so saved myself about nine hours of commuting time plus a chunk of train fare, so there was a silver lining!

If you want the minutes of your life back (like Ollie and I do from watching the John Lewis Xmas ad) you wasted reading this entry then I can only apologise, but whatever you do don't call me - I absolutely wouldn't pick up.

previous | next