strawberrri.diaryland.com
On my vacation away from work-y
2003-12-09 | 10:16 a.m.

Handing three pieces of coursework in before the 12 noon deadline when several million other students are doing the same thing is kind of fun in a very un-fun way. What made it worse was that the coursework box is located on a landing the size of a postage stamp, which led to a mini cattle stampede. But now, because I've finished all the work I need to do for this year I am officially NOT STRESSED (although I actually am, because I haven't done any Christmas shopping and don't know what to get anyone and I have two 2,500 word essays to be handed in in the new year and three two-hour exams and just...argh).

Friday night the white chocolate cheesecake in Wetherspoon's reminded me that I do actually have tastebuds, and should perhaps use them more often. After a bottle of wine (oh yeah my cystitis buggered off - yippee!) the decision was made to go to the house party of some aquaintances (which was actually quite good) and this process involved seven of us squeezing into a five person taxi, which was especially difficult seeing as one of my friends - Simon - weighs at least as much as Rik Waller, and for the whole ride the taxi driver was complaining he was 'going to get done by the police'. Wouldn't that have been hilarious?

Our shower should be getting fixed today. When I say 'should be getting fixed' I mean an engineer is meant to be coming to look at it but probably won't actually fix it because that's what engineers do. Perhaps I should bribe him with chocolate pudding.

I had a random conversation with one of my housemates about weathermen yesterday, which went along the lines of:

'They can't sack Michael Fish, he was the first weatherman I ever knew of! Well, him and John Kettley...but he was a different kettle of fish...Ooh John Snow would make a good weatherman, do you know why he would? Do you?!'

And then, friends, I burst into laughter at my own bad joke (I am very aware that it is extremely unfunny). I'd say 'I'll get me coat' only I haven't seen the forecast for today. God I'm leaving right now before this gets any worse!

previous | next