strawberrri.diaryland.com
And how
2004-01-07 | 10:27 p.m.

I have one more book to 'read' (might pluck a sentence or two from random) and then tomorrow I spend the day writing the second of my essays. Which will be fun. Only not.

Anyway, while I was doing some quality procrastinating I went for a rummage in a drawer under my bed (the one that hasn't wedged itself shut for the last couple of years so I have no idea what's in there other than a bundle of cuddly toys). Now where was I? Oh yes, under my bed I found a piece of geography work from my school days, dated 15th June 1996. And here it is:

Learn't? LEARN'T!?? What the fuck is that? I have no idea what made me think, at the age of 12, that the word 'learnt' warranted an apostrophe. I was clearly derranged. It's worrying that I used to write like that but I find it more worrying that my teacher (a Mr. Mann) did not correct me, but instead chose to ignore the problem while he probably laughed all the way to the staff room. For shame.

previous | next