strawberrri.diaryland.com
Doctor Whooo (hey!), Doctor Who
2005-06-27 | 1:00 p.m.

I survived Glastonbury!

On Friday the stormy weather, described by many as 'apocalyptic' led festival goers to believe the end of the world was nigh - the dance stage collapsed, BBC lost its coverage and the main fecking stage didn't having any bloody power for a good while. Due to not having an wellies, I began to get trench foot within five minutes of leaving my tent. I thought it couldn't get any worse - I was walking through worm-ridden puddles and twice a large beetle climbed up my bare shin, rendering me a shrieking loon.

However, despite everything the festival was still, undoubtedly, amazing. The music was great although moshing was sadly out as a result of the quagmire conditions. I always end up taking something away (metaphorically speaking, though to be fair I have brought home a rather large quantity of mud) from Glastonbury, this year being no exception. I don't know what it is, but I love the randomness of things such as groups of people creating their own outside dancefloor and dancing along to the likes of the Jungle Book music at 3.00 am, staying up all night to watch the sun rise, as well as riding a static tandem that was powering a stage in exchange for lemonade.

It was quite mad.

I'm deliberating going back to bed. I slept a bit when I got in this morning just after 8.00 having had under two hours' sleep on the train back (we bagged first class seats there and back - result!).

The weather yesterday was of the glorious hot and sunny variety, so I also have very amusing, albeit painful, sunburn. You know Fab ice lollies? I kind of resemble one of them.

So...more later, possibly. And finally, THANK YOU to everyone who's left me a message over the past few days, as they were ALL very much appreciated.



previous | next