strawberrri.diaryland.com
Drives me round in his JCB
2005-12-08 | 8:37 p.m.

And tomorrow another weekend descends upon us. God, I love weekends these days and I'm especially looking forward to this one as I'm taking Monday off work so get to spend from tomorrow evening until early Tuesday morning with the New Bloke. Tomorrow night we're having a Russian woman come round to cook dinner (not like a slave or anything, just a mad colleague of his), Saturday we'll be embracing Christmas shopping (trip to Hamleys included on my demand) and it's Sunday I'm looking forward to the most as he's organised a surprise for me. I don't know what it is (funny that, considering it's a surprise and everything).

I (like the world and its dog seemingly) had the opticians the other day. The good news is that this year my eyesight has not got worse and my optician consequently didn't tut at me. He did, however, measure the dimension of my eyes, announced 'You have incredibly curved eyeballs!' - it is not the first time he has done this - and showed my eye measurements to his receptionist who oohed and aahed accordingly.

I've rather enjoyed work this week, mainly because I've spent about 50% of the time skiving by partaking in activities such as sending/receiving as many emails as possible, and chattering with my fellow colleagues. Unfortunately I have to book out the work I do on the computer and today I didn't even accumulate four hours' worth. I would say I'll try to work harder tomorrow, but it's a Friday so it ain't happening.

I got a mini blast from the past today when I received a piece of post, only after my name the letters BA were written (which is my degree). The lecturer from the George Orwell module I did in my third year at uni has sent me a history booklet which features photos from everyone in my class. I loved that module, and despite the hideousness of my picture (I'd say there's a high chance I would have been hungover when it was taken), it's nice to have a little keepsake of what I once had.

previous | next