strawberrri.diaryland.com
My future love
2007-08-18 | 8:50 a.m.

I was just browsing through my 2004 paper diary (I don't keep one anymore) and am delighted to report that almost exactly three years ago I was doing the following:

'Can't remember what I did. Couldn't go swimming in eve as someone did a turd in the pool.'

The days of my life, I tell you.

Yesterday was quite entertaining in that I got asked out by a member of the jury!

I'd been in the case he's a juror on twice this week and both times noticed him looking at me. Yesterday we finished up at 3 o'clock (I'm not a complete slacker, I promise. I actually managed to take down 12,500 words in the morning alone. Which is like a dissertation and a half!) and by the time I'd finished faffing about in the office and rang my workfriend Katy to arrange meeting for a drink, it was 20 past three and I was on my way out.

He actually waited in the bushes in the grounds of the courts (this is quite a mean feat - the place is massive) and pounced on me as I walked past. He asked if he could have a second of my time and then queried whether I was seeing anyone. I answered with an honest yes but had a brief laugh/chat with him regardless. I was quite flattered really.

Thinking about it, I don't really know what the protocol is in terms of hooking up with jurors. I'd assume it's frowned upon. But then there's the whole self-employed thing, meaning my boss is essentially, well, me! So would I have to sack/discipline myself? That's certainly one to think about.

previous | next