strawberrri.diaryland.com
Til we get it out
2007-12-19 | 10:36 p.m.

Some bright spark amongst my co-workers decided that our Christmas Do fund (which worked out at �7 per person so we couldn't go for a meal. I'm not complaining as I also had last week's party and this Friday is the ushers' party AND contrary to certain beliefs I do not expect the moon on a stick for my own personal enjoyment...anyhoo) would be spent on chocolate, pizza and alcohol to be eaten and drank during our lunch breaks this week.

I wasn't so keen on this. I mean, my colleagues have been getting semi-pissed at lunch and this is just really what I do not fancy doing of an early Tuesday afternoon. Or of a Wednesday afternoon. Thursday is kinda edging towards the weekend so we shall see. I know I probably sound a bit self-righteous or something but in reality my main concerns of having a liquid lunch are:

1) Falling asleep using my stenograph as a pillow, while the judge is droning on about matters of law.

2) Being unable to contain my mirth at some of the names of people who come into court, such as 'Mr Mosquito'. Believe me, I struggle at the best of times. I still have a sore bit in my mouth which I chewed on to stop myself laughing.

From April, as predicted, my job is going to start to be taken over by the FUCKING TECHNOLOGY. However, they are running us alongside it for its implementation stage which will take 'between 12 and 24 months,' so, well, I have enough time to start thinking about stabbing the inventor of Digital Audio Radio...ahem, I mean looking at other career options.

I haven't finished my Christmas shopping yet and I re-heeeeally need to see my optician to order my next year's worth of contact lenses. I'm on my last pair of monthlies so if I lose them or they start, for some reason, rotting then I'm going to have to start wandering about as a near enough partially-sighted person.

previous | next