strawberrri.diaryland.com
Love was made for me and you
2009-10-03 | 5:45 p.m.

Dear Diary, today it is windy. Earlier on my walk back from the gym a polystyrene kebab box zoomed through the air with gusto, nearly flying into my face. That's the first time I've ever had run to away from takeaway garbage.

I think sometimes the universe gets bored and decides on hapless fools to poke with the finger of fate. It was my turn today. As I said, today I went to the gym and as I was walking down the main road to Balham, someone shouted 'Sarah!' at me out of a car. My first response was 'WTF?' as I don't really know anyone in my specific, out of the way neck of London.

It was my ex-boyfriend who I was with from the age of 17 to 20 and haven't seen in more than two years, when we had a day out at the zoo. Worse, he was with his girlfriend and I LOOKED LIKE A TRAMP. I'm surprised he didnt offer me 20 pence for a cup of tea. I hadn't even washed my face.

I smite the finger of fate!

So the three of us had a very odd chat, as they pulled up in a side road whilst I wandered up to them bewilderingly. The girlfriend is lovely. The ex is just as he always was (hello M if you're reading this ;) and we departed with him telling me to say hi to Tori and Pete, whose house I'm heading for in approximately 30 minutes.

Bizarre...

In the past week or so I've discovered that dating four people is TOO MUCH. In a capricious twist to the tale I cancelled my date with Mr Bean today and instead went out with Stuart last night. He took me for dinner in Primrose Hill and we had a walk up it to admire the London skyline and oh crikey, I think he's ace. And has nice hair. As I announced to Jenn this morning when she asked how I was, 'I am quite happy with life!' and I am.

I have one more OKcupid date on Tuesday with someone who seems so fun that I couldn't bring myself to cancel as I would forever be wondering what it would have been like. The one from last Saturday has been kicked to the kerb; he didn't walk me to the station after our date, even though it was past midnight. Nor check I got home ok. If I had the button from Family Fortunes which lets contestants know their answer is incorrect with a loud 'Ergh-EEEERGH' I would now be pressing it with vigour.

So two datees is far more manageable, I feel. And I now get to see my friends! 'Go forth - have your date and eat it,' once said a wise...ah, forget it.

previous | next