strawberrri.diaryland.com
Sam
2009-10-14 | 8:48 p.m.

I started secondary school at the age of 11 in 1995. In my form group for the next five years was a girl called Sam. She was mad as a box of frogs, lively and massively entertaining. After a while she became part of my close group of friends. While I was a teenager she came to my birthday gatherings, trips to London and even spent Millennium Eve at my mum and stepdad's party. Another time our group of friends formed a crappy All Saints tribute band, for which we'd practise abominable dance routines round at Sam's house.

After our GCSEs I didn't speak to her much anymore, until we began working together in Argos. She was as fun as ever, and if it was just the two of us in the stockroom we would far more likely be racing ladders against each other down the aisles rather than putting crockery sets and the like down the conveyer belt to waiting customers.

I last saw her roughly three years ago, when I was on a night out in Stevenage. She told me I was looking well and that she was now living in Scotland. She seemed happy.

***

Last June Sam went missing. Yesterday both my parents contacted me independently of each other to see if I'd heard and was coping ok: A body had been found.Today it was confirmed it was Sam's remains that were discovered at an address in Edinburgh.

I thought it unlikely she would be found alive and over the past half a year or so, since learning she was a missing person, have had awful dreams about what happened to her. I hope for her parents' sake they find out.

I work somewhere where murder is a massive aspect of everyday life. It was always something that tragically happened to other people and not something I could comprehend on a personal level, until now.

I hope my friend is at peace.

previous | next